Digital Mindfulness

This was probably my favorite week in learning about digital technology, because I consider myself digitally ‘off the grid.’  I do have accounts online, as I’ve said before, but I seriously spend maybe an hour on it every two weeks, and it’s mainly if I get a notification about a friend or family member’s birthday.  I wish them a happy birthday, then I am off.  I probably cannot even conclude that I spend an hour every two weeks, probably more like an hour a month? If that!  I really enjoyed the Ted Talk because he talks about how there is a balance with internet and real life moments.  I explained that it was necessary for him to be on the internet because of his job so he had to reestablish his priorities with internet life and real life.  Since I am pretty much disconnected from the internet, I do miss out a lot on things, but I don’t mind it that way.  I don’t mind not knowing about something right away, unless it’s an emergency, and I figure if it’s an emergency I will be contacted promptly via text or phone call.  I do miss out on family member’s doing things, but I would rather have a real life conversation with them about it rather than seeing their update on Facebook.  I think not seeing someone for awhile anyway can make you grow fonder to them.  I completely agree with the Ted Talk when he said that you make an intense connection with someone in person as opposed to online.  It is so much better to have deeper relationships and conversations in person.  There was a time when I was more active online, but I wouldn’t say addicted.  I was very active about 10 years ago, but even that minimal activity made me stressed out.  I didn’t like needing to know where everyone was at or how they were doing every five minutes.  It’s exhausting, and I can hardly keep up with where I’m at in life or the people I’m affecting.  I agree also that I think it is extremely rude to attempt to have a conversation with someone in person, while you are having ten other conversations online.  Or even if the other person is merely looking up e-mail, they still aren’t giving you they’re undivided attention.  I don’t do that and I wish that the other party didn’t while we were conversing, but unfortunately I can’t control that, so I end up just not talking anymore, and wait for them to tell me something interesting!!!  I also believe that multi-tasking is a myth.  I don’t believe that anyone can give a 100% effort in 4 different things they are doing at the same time.  For me, multi-tasking is not even in my vocabulary, because I’m terrible at it if I try it.  I am however very good at focusing on one task at a time, and a part of that is because you have to live in the moment in order to get the full effect or experience.  I will probably continue my life as a non-active internet user, just because I find it easier for me, and I don’t find that I miss out on much.  If I use the internet, it’s for socializing with family members and I like it that way.  Hopefully more people can take a break from the internet, and balance it out with their real life.

 

https://zenhabits.net/unline/

http://ww2.kqed.org/mindshift/2015/03/06/turned-off-how-teens-respond-to-a-no-tech-challenge/

 

Leave a comment